Promotions to higher levels should be from within a company and not to hire from outside. Do you agree or disagree?

It is thought that people should get promotions within a company and not be given from outside. I personally disagree with this statement for a couple of reasons. First of all, there are cases when the budget of a company does not allow employers to reward their employees. A lot of companies experience such situations during a financial crisis or because of the improper management of the heads. Even though employers try to find alternatives, workers are quite rarely satisfied with the outcomes forcing them to find another workplace. For example, in the 1990s, Ford lost a great number of employees because the company could not afford promotions and higher salaries offered by other competitors. Furthermore, in a vast number of countries, people will not be promoted because of corruption, even though they possess the necessary skills and knowledge. In other words, employees are likely to get stuck in the same position for a couple of years or more because they are not relatives or friends of the CEO. Not only will this stop the development of a company but also it may slow down the development of certain sectors of the economy. A prime example would be Russia. Despite its' great potential, it is still among developing countries as the lion share of organizations are corrupted. This makes the career path even more challenging for an average person. In conclusion, I absolutely disagree that promotions to higher levels should be from within an organization and that promotions from outside should be restricted. People may get stuck in the same position for several years because of such an approach.