Computers are becoming an essential part of education. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages and give your own opinion.

Modern computers are becoming an integral part of education. In my opinion, benefits like quick access to a wide selection of study material, high computational powers and ease of communication between students and teachers at any time greatly outweigh any drawbacks it might bring. One of the major benefits of integrating computers with education is that students can readily have access to a wide selection of course material. In other words, soft copies of almost all the related handbooks on any study stream can be easily accessed without having to spend too much money in buying and later storing the hard copies like olden days. Another positive aspect is the high computing power of modern-day computers, which could help students get familiarity with different software programs and research simulations, resulting in broadening their thinking and developing their interest in different field of studies. Moreover, computers help ease communication between teachers and students. For example, during the COVID-19 outbreak, due to the closure of schools and universities, all education institutes started online classes to avoid any gap in studies. On the other hand, admittedly there is some minor drawback of computers becoming an essential part of the education system. One possible disadvantage is that there is no check and balance by teachers or parents on students working on computers. Computers are usually connected with the world wide web which can divert the attention of students while working. This would waste their precious time playing games or watching movies, which should be spent on studies otherwise. Furthermore, they might get involved in some serious addiction or get exploited by some internet scammer. Another potential drawback is that students who cannot afford a computer or do not have access to a good internet connection might have a hard time keeping up with their studies. For instance, almost 57 per cent of students in Pakistan cannot afford a computer and 72 per cent of students have a connectivity problem. This makes it almost impossible for students to attend online classes and make assignments on a computer. In conclusion, I would say that there are drawbacks to computer becoming a necessity as students might waste time without proper supervision and some won’t be able to afford it, but the advantages fairly supersede the drawbacks.