some people say that due to the growing number of unfit and overweight people sport should be made compulsory in all educational establishments. others claim that only voluntary decision to do sports help people to be fit, but compulsory physical education embarrasses and turns away students who don't like sport. give your opinion.

It is argued by some that the increasing number of unhealthy and physically unfit individuals can be solved by making sports a compulsory part of education. In my opinion, I believe that sports should be made mandatory in schools to lessen the alarming growth of overweight regardless if it is against their will. Most people nowadays are not keen of sports because it was not introduced to them during their younger years. They grew up in a situation where they spend most of their time sitting on a couch and watching television shows. Therefore, the lack of physical activities caused their body to become overweight since it cannot burn the excessive fats. If sports are made mandatory during their childhood as part of the school curriculum, obesity will be prevented since their body will be able to metabolize fats with the help of exercise. For example, in the Philippines, children are forced to be physically active during their school hours because of the subject named Physical Education. Students are graded based on how well they perform in this subject causing for them to participate even if it is against their will. Consequently, most of the children and adults in the Philippines are well-built. In addition, people who are reluctant in sports will learn to love it and make it a habit once they get used to it. At the beginning, they will feel embarrassed and shy to do it but later on, they will learn to appreciate the fun in it. For example, most obese presented in documentaries stated how they hated sports or exercise at first. However, as the time passed by, they learned to appreciate its importance in their health and body. The benefits of physical activities inspired them to do their work-out routine religiously. In conclusion, making sports or any physical activities compulsory in every educational establishment is a good thing. It may seem like a bad thing to force sports to them at the start but the long term benefits of it will be appreciated afterwards. A sedentary lifestyle will be prevented and the love for sports will be enhanced as a result of introducing sports in a mandatory manner.