In most developed countries shopping is not only about buying the goods you need, it is also perceived as entertainment. Is it a positive or negative development?

Mass consumerism has increased across the globe with advancements in the world economy. In the majority of developed countries, people are considering shopping also as a fun filling activity rather for purchasing the required goods. While It has some positive shades, In my opinion, it has more negative impacts on the environment and consequently on the public. To discuss the benefit of this trend, it portrays the wealthiness of a country to the other globe. To be more in detail, the increased number of transactions between people to buy new things as and when they got introduced into the market represents the positive economy of the nation. China climbed to the third position in the world rankings, for instance, in exchanging consumer goods not only in their country but also to the other nations of the globe. The impact of this trend will strengthen the currency of any geography and helps nations to prosper from all perspectives. On the other hand, the negative consequences of this phenomenon are impeccable in the form of environmental degradation. To be more precise, increased consumerism leads to throwaway culture, eventually leads to landfills polluting nature, which subsequently causes global warming. As per the world statistics printed in the renowned article of the Guardian, for example, the UK itself accumulates 4M tonnes of plastic waste material every year next after the USA which stands on the top with 4.7M. These landfills are causing serious water pollution because of the non-degradable nature of plastic waste. In conclusion, a lot of developed and developing geographies public are treating shopping as an entertainment aspect and encouraging the throwaway culture. The benefit of this trend represents economical growth, however, the drawbacks of this phenomenon are tremendous in the form of natural disasters, which surely impacts every humankind on the earth.