Buying things on the Internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, as technology developed to satisfy their customers' needs, many businesses used this advancement and changed their plans and strategies in order to maintain and increase their revenues by creating websites for customers who prefer online shopping rather than the traditional ways. Many people believe that this technique of shopping has been increasingly popular and although there are some significant benefits there still some undeniable drawbacks to this method. Personally speaking, I believe that the advantages do not outweigh the disadvantages slightly. Stating the obvious advantage is that online shopping is very convenient since consumers will need to browse the website and wait for their packages to arrive in the comfort of their own homes. Furthermore, this allows them to compare different prices that businesses offer for the same product so they can obtain a better deal so this is less time consuming than physically go to each individual stores. This style of shopping can be widely seen during the pandemic, since malls are supermarkets are allowed to open to operate so they are adapting to this situation by changing their businesses' strategies to online shopping in order to satisfy their customers' needs and wants. Therefore, this will benefit both the business and its consumers. However, let's not forget the potential risks of shopping online such as internet scamming and hacking since many of us choose to enter our credit card's information as a method of payment so if that website is not secure enough, the chance of losing our valuable information can be very high. In addition, some will avoid that by paying by cash by they can go into a shopping spree without knowing the actual total amount that they spent either by not keeping track with the orders or there are too many separate orders which can be difficult to manage. A noticeable drawback of this method of shopping can be seen for clothes and technology objects since you will not receive any specialised advice or if you do it can be very time-consuming since the hotlines for customer services can be overloaded. In conclusion, as online shopping has gained more popularity there are some benefits and drawbacks that need to be clearly acknowledged but I believe that advantages do not completely overcome the significant disadvantages