In recent times, economic growth has helped many become richer, both in developed and developing countries. However, those in developed countries are not as happy as they were in the past. Why is this? What can be learned from this?

It has been suggested by some that people have been getting richer as the prosperous of the economy around the world, while residents living in the developed nations are becoming more unhappy than they were. This is an appalling result of the change of lifestyle. The lesson should be gained from this trend, which is that wealth is unable to satisfy all demands. First of all, most individuals have to work for longer hours than their past generation in order to earn more money to afford their expensive livelihood and keep their current jobs, thus their lifestyle has been changed. As a result, they have been spending less leisure time with their family and friends, thus resulting in a lack of intimacy and loneliness. For example, most office-workers who are working and living in New York say that although more salaries they are able to earn nowadays through overload work, they feel more anxious and upset than they were. The detailed understanding of this dreadful situation is that wealth is not powerful. Everyone should enjoy their life by communicating with each other to satisfy their emotional and mental needs while working hard to follow the rapid developing speed, otherwise, individuals will be depressed. As an illustration, some successful businessmen point out that previously they paid all their energies and time into working to earn more funds. However, when their dreams come true, they do not feel satisfaction as nobody can share their happiness, which causes their emotions to be empty. In conclusion, although people may vary in their opinions about the reason why residents are getting unhappy despite the fact that they have more money. I think that the modern fast lifestyle is the main reason, and people should adjust their opinions about earning money and enjoying life to suit this change.