Today, more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or Antarctica. What are the benefits and disadvantages for people who visit such places?

Recently, as technology has developed, individuals became able to travel farther and quicker by plane. Therefore, the choices of destination of trips have been varied. As a consequence, some people visit the areas where conditions are difficult. In the following essay, I will argue both the benefits and drawbacks. First of all, tourists are able to appreciate the convenient and favourable environment in which they normally live. As there is nothing that is in daily life such as lifelines and shops in the extreme areas, they can notice how they are spending a comfortable life. For example, they might struggle to make a fire, or have to deal with their hunger with food that only they bring. It must be tough, but after the trip, they might be able to appreciate everything around them. To sum up, a trip to an extreme environment enable visitors to be aware of how they are blessed with resources or services. On the other hand, visiting places where are tough for individuals might be dangerous. Tourists to the Sahara desert may suffer from thirst and they to Antarctica may be in trouble with its coldness. Moreover, these phenomena would be at the root of death in the worst case. The possibility to be in a situation that should not be experienced if they travel to ordinary tourism spots in cities might be a significant disadvantage. In conclusion, the advantage is that visitors can change their point of view to their daily life, and the disadvantage is that they might be in a dangerous situation during the trip.