Many people believe that social networking sites (Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on individuals and society. To what extent do you agree.

It is evident that technology has a predominant influence on society, especially on the young. With the birth of social networking sites, many intellectuals opine that the exorbitant exposure to such websites might be a huge detriment to both individuals and society. If asked, I would partially agree with the opinion and my supporting evidence will be given further in the essay. To begin, the most detrimental effects of the above notion is being that overexposure to said media sites could be a pathway to addiction. Since websites such as Facebook provide users with a copious amount of new content which could lead to them being engrossed in it for an extended period of time. For that reason, it might create a more sedentary lifestyle, leading to a lack of physical activities and a deterioration in health as a result. Moreover, cybersecurity should also be put under major consideration. Personal information of pupils and even cooperations are at risk of being stolen and it could cause detrimental effects. For instance, thousands of people get their intel stolen and sold each year. Despite major drawbacks, social media could provide various benefits. These sites could be used as a tool to convey and absorb certain knowledge. With the modernization process, news channels and cooperations provide intel via social media post. Furthermore, media sites also make it easier for the public to access crucial pieces of information. To clarify, news regarding the current state of covid 19 is widely available on networking sites and is easily accessible. In addition, it also serves as a means of communication between people. Most networks provide a messaging tool to communicate with others, therefore it is possible for the public to connect with each other even in a pandemic. To conclude, if social networking sites are not used wisely it could lead to drastic issues. The utilization of said technology should be educated in order to reduce said negative impacts on both the public and the population