People believe that being literate in English allows you to acquire better jobs and thus allows one to have access to a better standard of living. Up to what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

It is widely agreed that being fluent in English leads to better employment opportunities. I strongly believe that apart from language expertise there are factors like skills and experience which need to be considered for a successful carrier. In non-native English speaking countries even though people do not know English they flourish in their carrier. To begin with, these subject-specific skills like knowledge of the English language is useful for communication but for effective execution of work,subject-specific skills are required. For example, a cricketer, doctor or artist may not know English but can flawlessly execute their task without knowledge of English specific language. In addition to this, their expert knowledge of the subject can help them to demonstrate excellence in their field. Furthermore, there are attributes such as dedication, experience, determination and the right attitude towards work that lead an individual to a successful carrier. For instance, a person who is cooking is highly experienced will be in a far better position while solving the problem relating to cooking rather than a person who has knowledge of the English language but does not have experience of cooking. Additionally, with the above-mentioned,attributes a person not only achieves the goals of his life but also demonstrates success in his carrier. In conclusion, It is clear that for native English speaking countries it may be important to display excellence in the language for job prospects but for non-native English speaking,countries English is only a medium of communication and communication can be undertaken with any language which not necessarily advocates the use of English.