In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

Some houses have a lot of history in their record, for example you can find that there are some of them that have more than one hundred years. This can be very interesting not only for the sake of knowing a story also it can be useful to recalculate the value of your home. People say that information is power. When we talk about real state this phrase can be true. In New York fr example when people are tenants are looking for a house they should know that is better to avoid houses that are from a certain age because at that time they didn’t have the same requirements like for example fire exits, quality of the plumbing or double glassed windows. On the other hand, because not all the old houses have to be bad, victorian houses that they can be very old have an amazing quality and apart from that the design is something that still in our times designers try to copy, but in my opinion nothing better than the original one. In addition to this sometimes discovering that your house was somewhere that a famous person lived or did something like being the house where William Shakespeare wrote one of his multiple plays this could give the house a huge increased in his value. I am of the opinion that if people are trying to find out the story of their own places is because they would like to find if something valuable happened so they can take an advantage. Otherwise some people find it fascinating that the house was built in some historical moment so they can feel that they are part of it. Usually the best way to collect this information is going to the council and look when the house was made and after that you have a point to start searching for information from the area. Then, of course, the best way to find more stuff on the internet and if you don’t find anything talking with the neighbour can be useful. To sum up, I think that this new hype of finding the history behind your house is very good because even if it is for a selfish reason you will spend time learning something new.