People nowadays are not as fit and active as they were in the past. What are the reasons for this? What measures can be taken for this?

In the last decades, people have gradually become more sedentary, at the same time, obesity affects an important percentage of the population. In the following short essay, the reasons for this and some possible solutions will be addressed. To begin, sedentarism and overweight issues are narrowly connected. In the last half of the 20th century the global economy switched from hard labour to services and information techologies. Having said that, nowadays, more and more people work behind a desk without having to do any kind of physical activity. Moreover, the fast- food industry has increased dramatically and has changed the eating patterns especially in the western world. For example, one century ago, an average worker stayed for more than eight hours a day in a farm and used to eat fresh food, in contrast, currently, the same person gests sitted eight hours in an office and has breakfast and luch in a restaurant full of ultra-processed food. Since obesity has turned into a public health problem, one feasible solution might come from local goverments government, they should increase campaings campaign of awareness against the low-activity way of life and all its risks. Politicians can take direct actions against the availabilty of fast food by increasing the taxes to those companies. Maybe, if more data related to the negative consequences of poor eating choises mixed with low activity habits were exposed in public media, people would be more careful of their daily life. For instance, parents will double check if a soda is a suitable bevarage for their children if they knew that sugar is highly related to diabethes and kindney issues. To conclude, the main reason for people being less fit and active than older generations, may be the dangerous combination of low-quality food and sedentarism. In order to mitigate this issue, goverments government can publish campaigns to reduce the comsumption of bad food and improve the habits of their population.