The use of mobile phones in public areas is as antisocial as smoking. Smoking is banned in certain places, so  mobile phones should be banned in the same way. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In public areas, using mobile phones considered to be as antisocial as smoking. It is thought that in certain places, mobile phones should be restricted in the same way as smoking. I totally disagree with this statement because phones are not as dangerous as tobacco and they are needed to keep in touch with colleagues and relatives. First of all, cigarettes are harmful to smokers and the people surrounding them, whereas smartphones do not harm people standing or sitting close. In other words, banning these gadgets seems illogical as they do not jeopardize other people's well being. Moreover, some prefer to chat or talk in crowded places to feel like part of a community. Others like to read books or listen to music on their phones in the parks or other public places. For example, some mobile applications are used as tour guides allowing foreign tourists to discover popular places in any city. Furthermore, there are cases when a person cannot switch off a mobile phone pending an urgent call from friends, relatives or colleagues. The fact that an individual can be reached at any time eliminates anxiety and makes others calm. Additionally, children should always have smartphones with them in the case of an emergency. For instance, if a kid occasionally becomes lost in a crowded place parents will be able to find him or her using the phone. In conclusion, I absolutely disagree with the idea of banning mobile phones in certain areas as they do not represent the same threat as cigarettes. In addition, they are essential in the case of an emergency as they help to keep in touch.