Online shopping is increasing dramatically. How could this trend effect our environment and the kind of jobs required?

In recent years, the volume of e-commerce has increased manifolds. One major reason behind an increase in online shopping is our computers are constantly tracking our cookies and web searches, this indicates sellers what product a specific customer is interested in. Your digital device will start showing you banners, advertisements of the product you searched in a relatively low price than what you will normally pay in your local store. The switch, from physical buying to online, has significantly affected employment in retail sector. The profits for stores have significantly dropped. As a result, stores are less busy and can now operate with less people. Many stores in Australia went into liquidation because of people buying products over the internet; ‘Target Australia’ is just an example of that. Conversely, Australia Post profits have increased almost four folds in last ten years. These profits are a direct result of income generated through parcel deliveries. Furthermore, online shopping has positively affected our environment. More often than not, people travel by car or a bus to reach a shopping centre. Less carbon dioxide emissions are expelled into air as people use less petro chemical when they shop through electronic gadgets. Secondly, the packaging material used is all recycle able therefore the paper and plastic can be reused. In conclusion, with an increase in online shopping there will be more man power needed in postal delivery sector, and likewise this increasing trend will help improving our environment by secreting less chemicals into air and recycling packaging.