The government's investment in arts, music and theater is a waste of money. Governments should invest these funds in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

One of the main task of a government is to make a budget for their country. Depending on the circumstances and needs of the people money is allocated for different categories. There is no doubt that public services, such as hospitals and schools are important for any country, but at the same time other sectors like arts, music and theatre are equally important. I completely disagree with the statement that the sitting government should not invest in these areas. To begin with, the first major benefit of investment in entertainment sector is that this reflects culture and the ethos of a country. This is because folk songs, movies is a way of teaching nation history of their forefathers. With governments' support, this industry can flourish and provide an incentive for the artists. For instance, during the war 1965 India Pakistan war local traditional singers went to the warzone and performed on the borders to boast the morale of the soldiers. This strategy was extremely helful in reviving nationalism in the soldiers. Another important advantage is that bigscreens big screen and stage can bring toursists to a country, which, in turn, can contribute significantly to the national economy. In addition, government's patronage of this industry will promote soft image of the country. To illustrate, people from over the world who love rap music visit the United States to attend concerts. This activity generates a heavy revenue for the government. Conversely, if this important industry is neglected altogether it may result in loss of economic opportunity. In conclusion, personally, I believe public sector is important but we cannot neglect the significance of arts and entertainment industry as it promotes country's culture and generates revenue for the nation.