Some people believe that children can learn effectively by watching TV and they should be encouraged to watch TV both at home and at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, watching televisions (especially informative televisions) has been recognized as an effective method of learning, because audio-visual information can attract students’ attention and engage their interest. Although television programmes have educational value, I do not agree that increasing screen time is a good idea. Undoubtedly, it is understandable that some people are willing to encourage their children to watch TV at many different places mainly because televisions have exposed the children to a world of knowledge. There are many educational programmes aimed at children, allowing them to gain an insight into different subjects. For example, a wide range of documentaries can not only help people learn about historical events but also get a deeper understanding of various wild animals, which language channels can help them improve their foreign language skills. This knowledge can complement what they learn at school. Nevertheless, watching TV for a long time every day will lead to series of problems, one which is that television viewing can interfere with children ’ studies and other activities which can benefit these children ’s development. Children can get distracted easily, especially when they watch TV without adults’ supervision. Students who watch television frequently may not be able to concentrate on learning tasks, a problem that can result in poor grades. It is also difficult for children to attend those interactive activities which promote brain development such as reading, singing and communication. In addition, long screen time can have an adverse impact on children ’s social development. They will sit in front of the TV for many hours, instead of playing games with their peers and communications with teachers, which increases a sense of separation between them and their friends and tutors so that they will become unsociable and unwilling to express their views and understand the thoughts of other people. Without, good communication skills, they will have difficulty in gaining knowledge, drawing upon the ideas of classmates or teachers, and achieving academic success. To summarize, even though watching TV can provide children with access to extensive information, parents should not extend their children TV viewing time without any restriction.