Some people think that strict punishments for driving offenses are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

With the world growing at a fast rate and the increase in global population having a subtle impact on the gradual increase in traffic, it is notable that the number of traffic accidents too has been increasing concurrently. While some people are of the opinion that stringent punishments are needed to reduce traffic accidents, conversely, others believe that other measures will have a more profound impact on improving road safety. In my opinion, while the action to be taken for each accident is subjective, stricter laws would be more beneficial; detailed discussion will be done in the ensuing paragraphs. The first opinion, that stricter punishments would be key to reducing accidents, definitely seems to be more fruitful. Considering the two main factors of traffic population and the speed of vehicles on road, it only seems rational to implement such laws. Notably, despite the existing traffic regulations in place, there has been little improvement in road safety. In London, for instance, the rate of accidents has only declined over the years, compared to India, where the number of accidents is unimaginable. Partially, however, this may be due to the difference in population, yet, laws and their implementation play a vital part. Furthermore, the second opinion, that other measures would be have a better impact on traffic reduction, does seem to be a sufficient argument. The two most important measures to reduce traffic are health and safety education and increase in fine. Traffic education will benefit road safety on the long run, as this would be a stagnant process; educating a big population would not be easy. Secondly, increasing the fine may only be a temporary solution, as it is evident that increasing fine has only led to a rise in corruption. Many cases have been observed, in which people have escaped from the law. Summing up overall, constant rise in traffic and present laws are evidently the main causes for the steady increase in accidents. As the present laws do not seem to be sufficient, it is bound to lead to health and safety issues on the road. Hence, changes in laws, making them harsher will be possible solution for a positive outcome.