Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Currently, our world is facing an issue with overpopulation. With more people, our cities roads are always crowded and in main, centres the air is more polluted than ever. One possible solution for this problem is making petrol even more expensive than now. I tend to agree with that statement because,in my opinion, our society will only change if it affects our monthly income. Firstly, people would still have to commute to work or personal errands and this would force them to look for alternative ways. In other words, with higher prices for fuel individuals would rather walk to places or rely on public transport. Furthermore, cities would have to invest more in their infrastructure for subways, trains and cycling lanes to make it possible. Therefore, traffic jams would be alleviated, however, citizens would demand other reasonable means to commute. Secondly, increasing the price will drive us to a drastic shift in our sources of energy. There are several different types of renewable energy nowadays, but they are still more expensive than oil. As an illustration, countries all over the world would change their main source of energy to solar, wind, or hydro and pollution would decrease considerably. Thus, raising the price of petrol would change our world, as humankind would seek renewable energy and tackle this pollution issue we are facing. In conclusion, although at first our countries would have to change their structure, in the long term it will be for a better quality of life. I strongly believe that this is the way to change our fossil fuel culture and achieving not only well design cities but clean sources of energy too.