Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and poverty, while others say that economic growth is damaging the environment so it must be stopped. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Although it is often claimed by some folks that starvation and destitution can only be eradicated by economic development, other people sometimes argued that the rapid rise of the economy may hamper the climate which needs to be stopped. In my opinion, despite having a few negative impacts on our environment, I think that economic growth is an inevitable factor for ending the food crisis and poverty. To begin with, the economic indicators of a nation improve with the development of the financial condition of a country. In other words, since employment generation, an increase of purchasing power, and the rise of disposable income of citizens are improved, people can spend more money in purchasing foodstuffs, and they can similarly save money for future use. For example, Even though Bangladesh faced famine and economic crisis several time earlier, nowadays people have sufficient crops and grains with the improvement of the economy. Thus, improvements in financial indicators help to remove the impoverishment and food shortage among the people. On the other hand, the surroundings and biodiversity of an area may be negatively influenced by the development of the economy. Water, soil, and air can be polluted severely from the industrial emissions and throwing of toxic substances as more and more industries need to be established for economic expansion. For instance, Dhaka, the capital of Bangladesh, has recently been recognized as one of the top contaminated city in the world with the advancement of its economy. Therefore, environmental issues of a country may be often required to be compromised in order to ensure the growth of the economy. In conclusion, it is a debatable issue whether people should emphasise economic progress, or should protect the environment. In my opinion, the reduction of starvation and impoverishment is far more crucial for a country. However, environmental compliances should also be followed meticulously in order to protect the world.