Many people today think that homework is still an important part of school while others think that it is becoming outdated. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Whether homework is still a crucial part of education is still debated. Although I strongly believe that homework is not helpful anymore, this controversial question will be addressed and analysed from both sides in the following essay. On one hand, several people are still in favour of the role of homework in schools. They claim that the duties left to be developed at home are useful to reinforce the knowledge learnt in the classroom. For example, some experts in education believe that repetition is the key to learn new concepts. Having said that, children might benefit when reviewing lessons at home by doing some exercises to practice in their own house. In that sense, the school duties could be, somehow, still relevant. On the other hand, a lot of parents agree with the notion that homework is old fashioned. The relevance of the practice at home needs to be double-checked. Most students feel that they spend enough time at school and therefore, it might become annoying to continue studying at home. In fact, homework could become something negative as education can be seen as a punishment instead of an enjoyable experience. Thus, some other alternatives need to be explored to ban homework from educational life. To conclude, there are arguments to think that homework is still important. However, stronger arguments support the idea of the uselessness of it nowadays, even more, it can be seen as negative for the majority of the students. I strongly believe that it is time to evolve in that aspect and find new and better alternatives.