Some Governments believe it is necessary to impose a higher tax on junk food because an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much of this type of food. What do you think about this?

As consumption of unhealthy food has a direct effect on health, the rate of health issues is soaring across the globe with the increased intake of the same. In order to curb the problem, many governments are considering levying more tariff on junk food. This essay will discuss different reasons why imposing higher taxes on sugary drinks and oily cuisine will be beneficial. The primary reason why I support the idea of taxing junk food more than usual is that this will higher the price of those items. Certainly, this will deter many from buying those items because fewer people would be able to afford them. If a big Mac or a bottle of Coke, for example, costs $10 instead of $3 due to a hike in the price, it will attract a lesser number of people. Reduced intake of sugary drinks and packaged food, indeed, will prevent diseases among the general public. Adding to this, imposing more taxes on fast food such as pizza and burgers will also benefit the health sector. This is simply because the government will be able to invest more in improving the infrastructure at hospitals by the collected revenue from these food products. A similar instance happened in the UK where the government hiked the tariff on tobacco and the revenue was used for installing new medical instruments for patients suffering from respiratory diseases. Clearly, levying higher taxes on unhealthy food and drinks have multi-modal positive impacts. In conclusion, poor meal choices are the main cause of the majority of health issues as they have many detrimental impacts in long term. Therefore, hiking the price of lucrative yet harmful edibles will not only restrict people from buying them but investing the collected fund in needy sectors will also set a precedent in terms of spreading awareness among the general public.