In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

In this day and age, it is no doubt true that the elderly in the affluent country can expect to live longer than ever before. There are a number of problems that people suffer as a result of the phenomenon, but also some straightforward measures we can take to mitigate these potential issues. Various concerns can be offered with respect to the increase of the older population. Perhaps the worst problem stemming from this is the lack of workforce. Because of the fact that the proportion of retirement age is more than youngsters who are the main labour will be declined. As a consequence, the government will receive less money in taxes. A further crisis is the increase of the burden on adolescents, meaning the adults take time-consumption and money to care for their elderly relatives. Moreover, an ageing population will create a tax burden for working adults. Finally, there is a question of enhancing the healthcare systems and policies for the senior citizens. Turning to the possible solutions, an obvious step would be to encouraging immigration. This will raise the young workforce and the ageing population will reduce, leading to the state have more tax. A second remedy might be the augment of retirement age. For instance, the age of retirement is able to increase from 55 to 65. This is due to the fact that people of this age have adequate health to continue working. A third answer to the problem involves the birth rate, meaning that it is vital for people to be encouraged in giving more birth in order to ensure there will be sufficient the youth to replace the elderly in the future. Overall, the problems caused are the workforce, the demand for healthcare and the burdens on the young adults, and the solutions should involve coordinated action by the state and individuals.