Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

These days, there is an increase in the number of people who decide to run their business instead of working for organizations or enterprises. From my point of views, this tendency might be derived from the development in thinking of those people along with the modernization of society, which might sometimes cause negative effects on not only themselves but also their family in terms of financial issues. On the one hand, the advanced development of science and technology has brought plenty of job opportunities to many people that enables them to have free choices in their careers. For instance, adults in the former generation prefered to work nine-to-five jobs because they brought them stability as well as relative salaries. However, people nowadays are likely to be more independent than in the past as they wish to obtain unlimited incomes and social status. Thanks to social media and technological devices, people currently can work on themselves by different categories of jobs such as doing online marketing or business through Youtube and Facebook platforms. Such types of work might provide people with high incomes and time flexibility. Moreover, running their own business may give people a feeling of fulfilment because they can do whatever they want without noticing other people. On the other hand, it is undeniable to say one of the biggest disadvantages of being self-employed is raising uncontrollable problems. In fact, many people who are lack experiences and management skills may feel intensively stressed and discouraged when they have to deal with financial issues. Not to mention, their business could even go bankrupt and bring about financial burdens to their family. Another drawback of running own business instead of working for companies is that individuals do not have working benefits such as a pension, sick pay and retirement income. In conclusion, I believe that positive changes in consciousness and the 4.0 era of technology are two main reasons attributed to the working shift of a growing number of people from employees to become self-employed. No matter what their choice is, people should consider carefully before making any decision.