News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspaper. What focus do you think influence these decisions? Do we become to used to bad news, and would it be better more good news was reported?

It is true that, editors have to make difficult decisions about which news stories they broadcast or publish, and their choices are no doubt influenced by a variety of factors. In my opinion, we are exposed to too much bad news, and i would welcome a greater emphasis on good news. Editors face several considerations when deciding what news stories to focus on. Firstly, news editors have to consider whether viewers or readers will be interested enough to choose their television channel or their newspaper over/ than other providers. Secondly, news editors have a responsibility to inform the public about important events and issues, and they should therefore priorities stories that are in the public interest. Finally editors are probably under some pressure from the owners who employ them. For example, a newspaper owners might have particular political views that he or she wants to promote. It seem to me that people do become accustomed to negative news. We are exposed on a daily basis to stories about war, crime, natural disasters and tragic human suffering around the world. I believe that such repeated exposure gradually desensitises people, and we become more disappointed about the world. I would prefer to see more positive news stories, such as reporters of the work of medical staff after a natural disaster, or the kindness of volunteers who help in their communities. This kind of news might inspire us all to lead better lives. In conclusion, it must be extremely difficult for editors to choose which news stories to present, but I would like to see a more positive approach to this vital public service.