Some people seek a lot of advice from family and friends when choosing their career. Others feel it is better to choose a career more independently. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Choosing a career is one of the most important decisions in one's life. Some proponents argue that an individual must take guidance from family and friends while the opponents rebut that one should listen to his own guts and beliefs for selecting the profession. Personally, I believe that it is best to find one's career independently, taking a little guidance from loved ones. Below, I will explain that why I feel that our personal abilities and interests matter more than the experience of our parents and friends during career selection. Firstly, there are two main reasons why some believe that professional guidance should be taken from family and friends. Firstly, because elderly people have more experience and have met many people with different professions. So they can easily explain which career is best suitable for one's characteristics. Secondly, family and friends advice always helps one to choose the correct career path. For example, my best friend's father is an engineer, his mother is a doctor and his sister is a nurse. They all explained their life experiences and difficulties they face in their professional lives. At last, his family members advised him to choose engineering. Hence, advises and concerns from loved ones are always helpful and promising. On the other hand, some argue that focussing on one's own preferences and skills provides a clearer path because individuals have the best knowledge of their own skillsets and personality. Only a human knows in which field they are comfortable with and can achieve great success in future. For instance, a student scoring well in mathematics and physics has more interest in engineering whereas someone having a good command over biology and chemistry would be inclined towards becoming a doctor/nurse. Ultimately, your career will be built on your own capabilities, interests and trainings rather than someone's else experiences and trainings. In conclusion, Although the advice from our family and friends regarding our career discussion will always be supportive, one's own personality and likings matter more. Other people cannot understand your thinking and views about the profession. They will give mixed opinions and sometimes are very confusing. At last, to select the field of work wisely, you should listen to your heart and brain.