Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks and motorcycle are banned from the city centre. People are encouraged to use public transport such as buses, taxies and metro on vehicle-free day. To what extent do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In this current era of urbanization, many cities follow certain rules about traffic control such as private vehicles are prohibited on some days and pubic transports are promoted. I am totally agreed with the aforesaid notion and I also believe that it is more beneficial because it helps to alleviate pollution as well as traffic congestion. This essay will elaborate on the same in the upcoming paragraphs. To commence with, the first and foremost important benefit of using public transport by commuters is the protection of the environment and this happens indirectly due to less carbon emission as a smaller number of vehicles run on the road. To exemplify, the report published by the Pollution Control Buro, New Delhi, on 20th June 2020, reveals that the implementation of the rule of banning private cars for 3 days a week resulted in a 60% reduction of carbon emission in the air. As a result, a healthy breathable environment was available for citizen. Moreover, the reduction of lung infections was also noticed. Secondly, as everyone is nowadays using own car for commuting the roads are usually full and creates a huge traffic jams. This situation is extremely disturbing for emergency situations like shifting ICU patients or providing fire control team. In my neighborhood, one lady gave birth to a baby in the ambulance itself as the ambulance which was excruciatingly painful for her as they were stuck in the huge traffic congestion for almost one hour. This means it is incredibly beneficial to have congestion free commute. On the other hand, people may find using public transport inconvenient, time consuming and tedious but these problems can be addressed by increasing frequency and quality of public buses and metros. In conclusion, it is obvious that using public transport is incredibly useful as this can provide us safe and heathy environment. In addition to that it is also has a great impact over controlling traffic congestion.