Students are becoming more and more reliant on the Internet. While the Internet is convenient, it has many negative effects and its use for educational purposes should be restricted. How far do you agree with this statement?

The internet is an indispensable part of modern society. The internet is flooded with easy to access data and is, therefore, an important utility used by students. While convenience is a big advantage, there are also many downsides to the internet, which may impair the students ’ ability to study. Therefore, some people argue whether internet access should be restricted for educational purposes. So what are these downsides? and do these disadvantages outweigh the upsides? One big downside of the internet is the increased risk of getting distracted. Personally, when I am doing educational research I get often distracted by the many features the internet provides. Thereby, I often surf to my social media pages or go watch online videos, even though I have more important school work to do. However, this may also be seen as an advantage, since the internet can provide a space for students in which they can relax after an intensive learning session. This may help to keep the student mentally strong and potentially decrease stress. Another downside may be that the internet makes it too easy for students to find their required information. Before the internet existed was expected of students to get their information out of books. Currently, everything a student needs can be found on the internet with just a couple of keystrokes. This convenience may neglect the students ’ ability to do “ research ”. On the contrary, we are overflooded with information and therefore it may be appropriate to have a system in place that makes doing research easier. Finding papers you require for your research into a library is much more challenging than finding them on the internet, which saves a lot of time during this busy modern time. Another big advantage of the internet is connectivity. Many research groups are formed onto the internet, which provides groundbreaking research. Additionally, Research can be shared globally, which improves global research and development. And lastly, students are much better connected to their professors. In summary, the internet may be distractive and too convenient for students, however, it provides a solid foundation that students can rely on to learn. The internet is an inevitable part of modern society and we can not live without it. Thereby, in my opinion, the best way to learn is via the internet. Therefore, I do not advocate the statement that the internet should be restricted for educational use, since the benefits far outweigh the downsides.