Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

University tuition fees have become increasingly expensive. Therefore, it is argued that government should abolish these fees, regardless of their financial status. While this view is reasonable to a certain extent, I believe that this would have a negative effect on both students and society. There are a number of compelling reasons why students should attend university without fee. On the individual level, bachelor’s degree holder is more likely to find a decent job and thus a better life. This is particularly helpful for those who come from underprivileged families. On the societal level, the free-college policy helps create a more well-educated and well-skilled workforce, which will result in a thriving economy and civilized society. However, despite the advantages mentioned above, I would argue that abolishing college tuition fees can do harm to both students and society. If everyone has their own college degrees getting from free-of-charge education, it is not sure that all of them can find a job in the future, especially in a very competitive job market. In addition, if governments cover higher education tuition for all students, this will put a heavy strain on national budget. This will lead to budget deficits, tax hikes and reduced welfare. In conclusion, although this free-college policy is beneficial for both individuals and society, I think that students should pay tuition fees for higher education.