Some old people today struggle with the use of modern technologies such as smart phones and computers. What is the cause of this and what are some possible solutions?

The world is becoming more technologically driven day by day as more people have started to use it to make their lives easier. However, the older generation has been struggling to use gadgets like smartphones and computers for many years. This essay will delve into why old people struggle with the use of modern technology as well as possible solutions to help combat this issue. Firstly, the elder folk find it hard to adapt to newer devices. In their time they were using older devices for communication like the landline and telephone. Now when they look at these devices they feel it is more overwhelming to use because of the number of things it can do. Furthermore, because of their weakened memory power as a result of ageing they find it harder to remember how to use these gadgets compared to the average person. A survey conducted by Oxford University in 2019 has claimed that around 78% of individuals in the age group of 65 years and above find it hard to use these technologies and the major problem for them is they find it hard to remember. So, reduced memory power has been a major cause for old people finding it hard to learn to use these tools. Thus, the previous generation finds it hard to adapt to the latest technological trends because of their weakened memory capacity.