The use of cell phones (mobile phones) has increased rapidly in the twenty-first century. Additionally, cell phones can now be used for many purposes besides making phone calls. What are the advantages and disadvantages of cell phones? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Most western folks are in possession of a mobile phone and they cannot live without it. In former times, phones were only used for a few calls. Nowadays, mobile phones are used for everything and cannot be excluded from our daily lives. However, besides the many,advantages they also have many disadvantages. Both aspects will be discussed during this essay. I shall further describe this with relevant information and personal experiences. On the one hand, cell phones can make life easier. There is nothing more convenient than having a small device, that you carry everywhere, which has access to the internet, apps that provide multiple services and you can connect with other people. Earlier, for example, people needed to carry their agendas, calculators and other utensils with them to work or school. Having a small do-all device saves much space in our backpacks and reduces the likelihood of forgetting something. Thereby, mobile devices can keep us up-to-date with news notifications and messages from friends and relatives. They could also provide relaxation to a person using it because he or she can listen to music, watch videos and play games. On the other hand, while the cell phone can be used for relaxation, it can also be very distracting. Personally, when doing school work I cannot have my phone nearby since it would impair my studying. The constant flow of messages and the peoples need to be up-to-date can therefore be harmful to them. It may also be argued that relying on a single piece of technology can be risky since it can easily be hacked. Numerous times are peoples’ privacy violated, passwords cracked and even bank accounts hacked, because of the irresponsible use of their phones. In summary, cell phones may provide many benefits for their users and are part of modern society. On the contrary, it may also provide many vulnerabilities to the user, which makes it also dangerous. Therefore, a person should evaluate both sides of cell phone usage and should always keep the consequences in mind.