Many young people are leaving their homes in rural areas to study or work in the cities. What are the reasons? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

With the increasing importance of education and employment, there has been an increasing trend of youngsters opting for urban areas over the villages to pursue studies or for jobs. Many reasons could surface for the same. Though there might be some drawbacks, it is certain that the benefits overshadow the disadvantages. To begin with the causes of moving into a new space, it is evident that,usually youngsters move for a higher education or betterment of job Opportunites. The most important advantage of moving to cities is better education and job opportunities. The metro cities have schools that have better infrastructure, more educators and advanced facilities as compared to rural operation. For instance, educational institutions in cities have smart teaching facilities like computer labs, smart boards, audio-visual methods which may not be available in small towns and villages. Further, in terms of work and,employment it is clear that urbanised areas offer more opportunities, higher salaries and an increased chance of growth and development. Therefore, the youth prefer cities over countrysides. Moreover, metro cities offer a lifestyle that is lavish. Therefore, this comes as an attractive factor to the youngsters. Pubs, fancy restaurants lead them to move to these more developed areas. However, there is a flip side as well. Moving to a new city may often lead to increased mental stress due to adapting to a completely new lifestyle. In addition, it is seen that the young people often forget about their old parents when moving to a new place. In a nutshell, it can be said that though there are some cons of moving out from rural areas, they are too pale as compared to the rewarding aspects.