In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Does this trend have more positive or negative effects on the society?

Most of the nations are experiencing an increase in more number of older people. This phenomenon has both pros and cons. This essay would discuss both sides and evaluate the effects. On one hand,The main advantage of having an aged population in a country is that elder persons are the best mentors for the youngers and their advice is precious. As a result, we can depend on them whenever required. For example, people look up to elders in any critical problem in professional and as well as in their personal life for a helping hand. On the other hand, there are problems if the ageing population gets overly increased. Mainly, Government should increase the reforms for these older ones and hence have to collect huge taxes from the citizens and this may result in agitations across the country. Moreover, unemployment in the youth can come into the picture. For instance, if more elderly individuals are present in an organization then there will be no employment for freshers. This may turn into a serious problem for a country's development. Furthermore, problems may arise if elderly persons do not vote for a new candidate in an election as they get used to the old ones. As a consequence, new leaders cannot enter the nation's politics and others get suffered from the same problems. To conclude, there are both advantages and disadvantages to the given trend. However, if left unnoticed, negative effects may overweigh the positive ones. Also, this type of increase in a certain age group of individuals is seen to give a negative impact on society.