Air traffic is increasingly leading to more noise pollution and airport construction. One reason for this is the growth in low-cost passenger flight, often to hold holiday destination. Some people say that government should try to reduce air traffic by taxing it more heavily. Do you agree or disagree?

Over the last few decades, the aviation industry has progressed by leaps and bounds. Due to advancement in aviation technology, the rise in low-cost passenger flights has increased a lot. Some people argue that government should impose heavy taxes to reduce air traffic and pollution. I don’t agree with this point of view because, in the modern world of interconnectedness, taxing passenger flights are going to hurt a lot of other sectors. To begin with, there is a boom in the tourism sector over the last decade and all the credit goes to the low-cost passenger flights. This has contributed a lot to the growth of the local economy and employment status. For example, during the last five years, Pakistan has earned a hefty amount as a result of a sharp increase in tourism. Some countries gross domestic products solely depend on tourism. So, the idea to impose taxes on passenger flights are going to haunt a large number of people and can create a worldwide recession. Furthermore, a large number of flights has necessitated either the expansion of existing infrastructure or create new airports and a network of roads for connectivity. These steps not only bring investment into the country but create a lot of jobs. To curb the issue of pollution, smart urban planning is the need of the hour. The government should take tangible steps such as the construction of the airport outside the premises of the city population, allow more environment-friendly vehicles etc. To conclude from the above debate, we can say that high taxes to mitigate pollution is not a solution. Rather, the government should take into account the ground reality and take some concrete steps without affecting any se large group of people.