Fewer and fewer people walk on daily basis. What are the reasons and how to encourage them to spend time walking?

In the current times, the expansion of different modalities of transportation has decreased significantly human´s physical activity. Previously, to accomplish several everyday duties walking was involved, being this seen less nowadays. Firstly, this essay will discuss why walking should persist as a daily activity and secondly, how we can motivate people on this matter. On the one hand, performing any type of physical activity has been related to better health status. Walking on a daily basis is frequently recommended by physicians. For example, many clinical trials that explored risk factors for cardiovascular and metabolic diseases, have found that walking for at least 20 minutes every day reduces the incidence of fatal complications. Therefore, the main reason that people can have to spend their time walking, is maintaining a fit and healthy body. On the other hand, it is something to be convinced that walking is good for our health and other to get the sufficient motivation to do it on a daily basis. In addition to explaining the benefits of walking on our health, an economic benefit could also be offered in compensation. The costs of public transportation for short distances should increase. For instance, one would have second thoughts when requesting a Uber, if the price is excessive and the distance planned could be easily done walking. Thus, an economic stimulus and the satisfaction of doing something to maintain a healthy body could be enough to encourage walking.  In summary, maintaining constant physical activity through walking improves our health. Moreover, preference for walking short distances instead of using transport can also save us some money.