Some say that due to heavy traffic, governments need to build more roads in metropolitan cities, while others argue this is not the right solution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many believe that governments should construct more motorways in metropolises in order to ease the traffic flow, while others argue that this is not the viable remedy to this situation. In my opinion, building more roads does not reduce traffic congestion and investing in public transport systems is clearly the optimal solution. On the one hand, constructing more roads cannot mitigate traffic jams in the long run due to the increasing population. In the other words, the more people increase, the more cars are used. When the number of cars on the roads rises, building more motorways is unnecessary since they cannot accommodate a huge number of 4-wheel vehicles. As a consequence, not only does it cost a large sum of the national budget, it also results in more serious traffic congestion. On the other hand, investing massively in the public transport system may defuse this situation. When public transportation is available and affordable, people will incline towards trains or buses, which are some of the most common means of public transportation. This will significantly reduce pressure on the city’s roads. Additionally, because public transportation accommodates a mass number of commuters, travels along the designated routes, and operates on stipulated timelines, this is the ideal way to alleviate urban congestion. In conclusion, building more roadways cannot curb traffic jams and a public transport system is needed to tackle this issue. More of the national budget ought to be diverted into public transportation in order to enhance productivity and boost the living standards of residents.