A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not manage correctly. Describe the merits and demerits of tourism in the modern world. Do you think that benefits of tourism outweigh it's drawbacks.

It is often argued about the outcomes of visiting places for entertainment matter, whether to positive aspects are more important than the negative ones or not. This essay will discuss both sides of this trend and I explain why I do not consider it more advantageous. To begin with, there are several downsides of tourism when it comes to pollution and preserving the hotspot. Quite often, tourists carry a bag of snacks along with the visitation, and, in the absence of a trashcan, some rather throw it away in the environment than grab and discharge it properly. Moreover, preserving the exposed material can be challenging. Some hotspots make available heritage materials to people and, despite putting pieces of advice to preserve them, individuals insist to follow their own will. For instance, visitors commonly take photos with the flash turned on inside of museums, although it is prohibited. On the other hand, some upsides can be pointed regarding tourism, as government incentives and the improvement of the local residents' financial gains. As a matter of fact, many famous places used to be forgotten and after catching attention and being recognized by tourists, started receiving money from the government to expand. Furthermore, another good point is that local markets could start increasing due to the rising movement. To illustrate, after a rainy season, a useless and abandoned construction in Jericoacoara, a Brazilian city, filled up with water a began to be used as a lake. Afterwards, local residents closed the place and started charging visitors, augmenting their incomes. To conclude, both arguments have their merits and demerits. Although, in my opinion, the advantages do not outweigh the disadvantages, due to the fact that a lot of city and environmental impacts are a result of people's irresponsibility, increasing trash waste and destroying the patrimony.