Some students prefer to take a gap year between high school and university to work or to travel.Do the advantages of this outweigh this disadvantages.

It has been a debatable issue for a long time that a break between institute and university study is worth doing or not. Although gap year comes with a number of drawbacks, it is a net positive for young adults. This essay will discuss both sides of this concept, and support the latter view. There are various disadvantages to this. First of all, distraction by other things among pupils, such as money as well as freedom, while travelling or working in the particular break, which sometimes encourages them to leave their study. As a consequence, this will affect their career in the long term. Secondly, at this tender age, they are not able to think in a depth about wrong and right, even about the people they meet while travelling, in turn, it is very easy for them to influenced by bad habits such as drugs, criminal activities, theft, and many more. For example, a recent study conducted by WHO shows that 50% of drug addicts are institute teenagers. On the other hand, gap year brings ample life learning lessons for teenagers. Experience, for example, prepares school adults for their future career by giving them real experiences whether it is good or bad. Students will use this as a set example for their decisions. Apart from this, students will understand the value of money as well as the saving concept at a very young age as they are doing hard work to pay their bills. For instance, financial management is more developed in this category of adults. Moreover, many youngsters are confused to choose the right pathway for their career. Hence, by doing travelling or working, they might get a more clear idea about what they want to do in their life which directly or indirectly lead to a successful and happy career. The government of countries such as the USA and Australia, foster their citizens to take a gap year and explore themselves in order to create a more efficient workforce for their nations. In conclusion, gap year after school studies comes with enormous benefits and it is a necessity that every government and parents should encourage this education system. However, it is also important to teach students about wrong habits. Thus, they can not be distracted by lucrative things.