Some people says that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, says that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required.

As a solution to prevent the deterioration of public health, some people suggest adding more sports centres, while, others consider that this would not be an effective way to face the problem. Generally speaking, sports are a big contributor to a good health, however, a big part of the population do not do sport not because of the lack of these facilities but for other reasons. Although the idea of adding new facilities would allow people to have a larger choice of which type of sports to practice, this would not change radically the number of people who will join a centre. In many cases, people do not practise sport in particular because they do not have time or because they are lazy to do it. In addition, many sports centres have very expensive memberships costs. The possibility of increasing the number of sports facilities could be transformed into a valuable resource if the government introduce them for free. For example, some cities like London have parks where people can find outdoor gyms to use. Having them in many green areas could involve people on a healthy lifestyle. Another useful solution could be dealing with the other major problems that affect the health of the population. Fast food and sugary drinks are one of the biggest reasons for obesity for that reason introducing a tax could be an easy solution to decrease their sales. For instance, some Mexican cities, considered as one of the highest consumers of Coca Cola, decided a few years ago to put a new tax that affects these types of drinks. In conclusion, although, only free sports facilities could be a solution, this won’t be enough to increase public health. Indeed, this should be accompanied by other measures which deal with the primary reasons for health diseases.