Some people get into debt by buying things they don't need and can't afford.What are the reasons for this behaviour? What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem

Some people can be extravagant spenders when it comes to shopping. They usually buy those items that are not useful and are seldom affordable. One reason for this behaviour is that they were spoiled by their parents when they were growing up. One possible solution is identifying this addiction and countering it through therapy and counselling. One of the causes of compulsive shopping in adults is that they were not taught how to set boundaries or limits when they were children. As a result, these minor faults that they develop in their childhood are transferred to their adulthood. In adulthood they are independent and capable of making decisions on their own therefore, they end up making decisions that are errorneous. It is usually the parents who encourage bad habits in children. As these people have not been trained by their parents in how to manage finances effectively when they were still growing up, their management skills are weak. Moreover, they are habitual of getting whatever they want whenever they want. This obsessed is carried forward to their present where they make poor decisions financially and end up in alot of debt. An effective solution could be therapy and counselling by a proper medicial professional, as these people are used to instant gratification. These practitioners can help them identify their addictions, and slowly move towards recovery and rehabilitation. For example, in the book confessions of a shopoholic the main character was also obsessed with shopping impulsively. As a result, she decides to go to the therapist who guides her how to stop purchasing items successfully. In conclusion, some people spend alot of money on shopping for products that they end up wasting. To make things worst, they also become prone to financial distress. This behaviour is due to lack of regulations and rules while they are growing up. A possible solution is rehabilitation through therapy.