In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people traveling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

In the last 100 years, technology has advanced transportation at an unprecedented rate. As a result, experts predict that all vehicles will follow an automated driving system and run without a driver in the future. Although this development would lead to some drawbacks like security issues and job losses, in this essay, I will explain why the benefits clearly outweigh them. Admittedly, there are some disadvantages that might occur if cars, buses, or trucks become driverless. The first one is that the security problems may increase. Indeed, automated vehicles would have to use and share the same data and network protocol which would increase the possibility of hacking a system. Eventually, even a small hack could wreak significant damage on busy roads by causing collisions and traffic. Another issue is that many people may lose their jobs. This means the truck, bus, and taxi drivers will need to find new employment with the introduction of self-driving cars, resulting in a rise in unemployment. However, such issues could get solved if the government improved the security and create employment. Despite these issues, automated vehicles would be significantly beneficial. Firstly, road accidents would substantially decrease. Certainly, the major reasons behind car accidents are irresponsible drivers who drive in a drunk or distracted state. However, self-driving vehicles would use computers based sophisticated systems and algorithms, which would eliminate costly human errors. Secondly, a traffic system would become more efficient and effective. This means if all vehicles run on one system, nobody would break the rules, and cars would be able to travel efficiently at optimized distances from each other. This may lead to reducing traffic jams, and the transportation could become faster. In conclusion, it is clear that driverless vehicles would bring positive effects. Although security breaches and unemployment issues may arise, I strongly believe that advantages like reduction in accidents and traffic are more important.