Schools are no longer necessary because children can get so much information available through the Internet, and they can study just as well as home. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that schools should no longer be a vital part of our society, as any form of information is easily accessible through the internet. These people believe that due to the proliferation of information on the internet, students can study just as effectively in the comfort of their own houses. However, I disagree with this statement because these institutions provide a chance for children to develop social skills and promote social equality. On one hand, the importance of schools can be gauged by the fact that they aid in developing the cognitive and social skills of adolescent and children. Although students may be able to get hold of knowledge or information of different objective subjects such as science or mathematics through the internet, they will not be able to get life lessons. For example, they teach students how to compete with their peers, how to interact with friends or teachers, and how to manage time effectively. On the other hand, schools also aid in maintaining social equality. As each and every student studies the same books and learns almost the same skills, therefore, social distance between classes is minimized. This is especially true for countries following a public school system. For example, in the UK despite, affordability almost all of the students are enrolled in public schools. Moreover, this also alleviates the disparity of resources between the different social segments. For example, the students with more resources can extract more information as compared to students with fewer resources. Therefore, schools can help curtail this situation by treating all students equally despite their financial situation. In conclusion, I disagree with the statement that school should cease to exist. Although the information is now easily attainable through the internet, the element of interaction and social parity will be missing without schools.