Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others argue that the circumstances and motivation of each crime should always be considered when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are some crimes that take a long time to be judged and it does not seem fair to the victims. In this regard, there is a debate whether the same kind of crimes should have similar jail time, whereas others claim that a fair trial is a human right. I strongly agree that everyone must have a trial, otherwise, innocent people might stain their lives forever. On the one hand, fixed punishments would be a relief for court and jury hours. For example, there are several crimes waiting for judgment, however, the time consumed for each one to be analysed is too much and in some cases criminals stay out of jail during this period. Therefore, this measure would alleviate law enforcement work and arrest outlaws easily. On the other hand, not taking into account the circumstances involved can make more harm to society. For instance, that person who steals bread to eat will have the same sentence if had stole a bank. Furthermore, murdering in self-defence inside your house a thief will give you the same jail time as a serial killer. Thus, not analysing properly the circumstances can be unfair. As far as I am concerned, I believe that the same punishment for the same crimes is a terrible idea. This would raise the number of people in jail. Besides, someone who committed a small felony would be imprisoned with real perpetrators. In order to avoid ruining the lives of several individuals, every felon must be deeply analysed. In conclusion, I agree that having the same punishment for similar crimes would accelerate and make law enforcement jobs easier. Nevertheless, it would be dreadful for citizens who will not have a chance to have a fair trial.