Do you agree that the advantages cars bring outweigh the disadvantages

Automobiles have been an essential mode of transportation since the early 19th century, as a result many people associate various advantages and disadvantages with their usage. In this essay, I will discuss an integral benefit and a drawback of using vehicles, and also point out if the benefit outweighs the drawback. On one hand, owning a car gives independence to a person and he or she does not have to rely on public transport. In many countries especially the third world countries, public transport infrastructure is not well developed and people have to face delays. They also have to adhere to strict timetables that are arduous to follow. Therefore, owning a car is convenient and enables a smooth commute. On the other hand, a major flaw associated with automotive vehicles is that they cause harm to the environment. Almost 50% of the pollution and carbon dioxide emissions in urban areas are attributed to their excessive consumption. Moreover, their excess use also causes traffic congestion in integral metropolitan locations. These detrimental effects not only impact the people living in these areas, but also leads to global warming. Similarly, more cars on the roads result in increased consumption of fossil fuels that are already deteriorating. However, with all these points in mind, scientists and engineers are now developing smart fuel-efficient cars that control their own carbon emissions. Further, with the advent of electronic cars, our reliance on fossil fuels would diminish over time. But as of now, these new technologies are extremely expensive and out of the reach of the general public. To conclude, cars have been used for centuries as the most prominent mode of transportation. Although they give the travellers liberty and flexibility to commute from one place to another any time they want, they can have harmful effects on the environment. So in my opinion, until an affordable solution is available to the general public the disadvantages will be more as compared to the advantage.