Government should spend money on rail way rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With increasing population growth and the rising need for travelling, the usage of roadways and railways have seen a surge. Some people claim that the government should spend taxes on the maintenance of rails instead of highways. I differ from this opinion to a large extent. The reasons for my stand will be explained further. The foremost point I would put forward is that more than half of the public use the highway to commute either short or long distances. Vehicles like buses and cars or smaller automation are constant passers-by road. Hence, road maintenance is of utmost importance. If the roadways are not properly serviced, it can lead to serious issues like accidents. Apart from this, roads also connect cities through highways wherein goods are carried on a daily basis. Improper roads may lead to delay in many services. For instance, recently the surge in covid infections caused emergency needs for oxygen cylinders and more than half of the supply were by the roadways in trucks. However, it cannot be denied that rail line also need timely servicing. Trains are a major part of travel, especially for the middle class. It is often seen that the railways are not properly maintained which leads to inconvenience during travel. Therefore, funds should also be invested for trains and tracks service. To recapitulate, it can be said that the government shouldn't be biased to one mode of transport and equal funding should be spent on both roads as well as track.