Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.

Some people hold that the creation of knowledge is totally worthy, and it should be openly published in various spheres. Others contend that not all information should be freely shared as some information is crucial and valuable. To commence with, it is true that well-educated societies can help to prosper and develop countries. It has been proven that in unequal and developing states only well-off people can attend universities or easily access to the Internet, which contains massive resources to learn and be well-informed. If this situation continues being perpetrated, inequalities will never end. Moreover, many researchers have noted that developed countries see the share of information as part of the democracy as citizens from different social classes have the right to read academic papers or reports written by companies. From the detractors’ viewpoint, the share of information might have detrimental effects on the gains of the authors of the information. For instance, there is a great debate about how much academics currently earn as many of them protest demanding for better salaries. The free publication of information might worse this situation as authors, such as scientifics and academics, will be receiving less credits and therefore their incomes will decrease. According to this perspective, the fact of publishing much information can result in unfairness. Considering both opinions, I am convinced that there are benefits and disadvantages to widely share information. I think that steps should be taken to promote the divulgation of information, but at the same time to give the credit and reward those who create valuable information. Summing up, I firmly believe that we need to make our societies highly informed to bring unequal gaps, and give a fair acknowledgment to authors.