Some people think that computer games are bad for children, while others believe that they are useful. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of computer games.

Technological advancements in computers have brought immense changes to children's lives in the form of video games. While some portion of society thinks that they are detrimental to juveniles, others feel they are beneficial. In this essay, I will discuss both merits and demerits of this phenomenon with necessary examples. There are certain benefits with these activities out of which I would like to highlight two. The primary one being, they absolutely improve the cognitive ability of adolescents to a greater extent, moreover, the intelligent quotient too. Creative ideas to win over an enemy in PUBG, for example, improves their thought process to think out of the box. Apart from this, they will improve global relationships and allow children to meet many new fellow gamers to interact and understand their cultures. Interactive play games which are available in play stores of mobile phones, for instance, allows any person across the world to connect and play online without any geographical boundaries. On the other hand, there are an equal number of drawbacks, however, if the usage of computer games spike up beyond a limited number of hours. Juveniles are facing a lot of health issues like obesity at an early age due to lack of physical activity as they are completely addicted to these gadget based pastimes. Statistics across the globe reveals that 28% of the obesity cases among kids is a result of overtime sitting at the same place. Adding to this, they absolutely avoid personal interaction with family and friends as their minds are deeply occupied with playing. My neighbourhood kid, for instance, engages in front of the computer for almost 8 hours every day, which made him mentally retarded because of no social and personal interaction with citizens. To conclude, some people feel that computer-based pastime activities have a number of merits, however, there are adverse impacts of this phenomenon if the usage is beyond a certain amount of hours in a day. Both the benefits and the drawbacks are highlighted and exemplified in the above essay.