Government investment in arts such as music and theater is a wastage of money. Government must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s fast-paced life, the demand for better public services has grown at an exponential rate. Some like-minded people foster this thinking that government funds should not be wasted on arts -related activities and instead should be used to make public services better. My views are in harmony with this ideology. The following paragraphs tend to highlight some important aspect of this issue. To begin with, there are numerous arguments surrounding my viewpoint, but the most important factor that needs to be considered is that spending on public services instead of arts will not only contribute to improved public infrastructure such as transportation and utilities but also lead to several other benefits in various fields. Furthermore, it is asserted that investments in the public sector help in improving the lifestyle of people. For example, investment in public transportation systems can fuel the speedy commute, resulting in an increased number of people using buses and railway, which eases down the traffic and pollution problem. Thus, rather than spending public money on arts, investing it in the public sector would be beneficial for society. In addition to this, another key justification for supporting this notion is that spending funds on public services instead of music and art are likely to help one thrive and excel in varied areas by improving healthcare and education systems. Moreover, arts such as music and theatre are leisure activities, and private entities should be encouraged to fund and promote these activities, instead of spending taxpayer’s money on them. For example, Bollywood is the major industry that earns huge profit from the big screen, thus the film industry making a profit out of it should be permitted to promote theatre schools rather than spending governmental grants on them. Therefore, it is quite reasonable to divert governmental funds from arts to public services for the greater good of society. In conclusion, in the light of the above discussion, it is fair and justifiable to say that rather than draining out public money on arts; government should invest it in improving public services. Hence, the idea of investing more in public welfare should be promoted by all means.