World peace is maintained through the threat of nuclear weapons. Nuclear power also provides cheap and clean energy. Therefore, many people say that the benefits of nuclear technology outweigh the disadvantages. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of nuclear technology and give your own opinion.

A highly controversial issue today relates to whether to have nuclear energy well established in the energy matrix of a country or not. In this essay, I am going to examine this question detailing some advantages and disadvantages of the decision of producing and using this type of Technology. There are people who argue that the benefits of nuclear power considerably outweigh its disadvantages. The main reason for believing this is that this technology comes from a clean process, which means it almost does not generate residual materials in nature. It is also possible to say that it has a good cost-benefit relationship, thus every kWh of energy requires a low generation cost. One good illustration of this is the huge number of usines existing in France which are working several years in raw generating clean and cheap energy. On the other hand, others believe that nuclear technology is not a good choice for a country. It is often argued that there are some existing strong risks associated with its operation. People often have this opinion because this subject is usually associated with hazardous disasters in human history like Hiroshima and Chernobyl. A second point is that to develop and operate this kind of energy generation it is usually required to have very specific know-how. A particularly good example here is that Brazil needed a partnership with France to develop the first national nuclear submarine to work in a safer environment. In conclusion, I believe both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I feel that nuclear technology is a good choice to have in a power matrix, but it is not recommended to have the majority of energy depending on nuclear technology. Analyzing advantages and disadvantages, The recommendation is that a country must choose nuclear to compound their mix of power options, but it should not exceed 50% based on associated high risks.