Some Governments believe it is necessary to impose a higher tax on junk food because an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much of this type of food. What do you think about this?

In this modern generation, fast food is gaining popularity over nutritious homemade stuff at an exponential rate. This is impacting badly on human's health and many legal authorities are in favour to introduce a high taxation system on junk eatables. According to my opinion. the government must impose a higher tax on processed edibles because of increasing health-related issues in humans and it is also impacting on youth's lifestyle making them unhealthy and inactive. The option to make fast foodstuff costlier has its own benefits for many convincing reasons. First and foremost, this kind of cuisine is unhealthy for the human body as it leads to countless health problems. Although snacks are easy to cook and tasty, they are prepared in fatty oils rich in unsaturated fats and complex carbohydrates which leads to heart and blood pressure problems. For instance, a research paper from the University of Toronto revealed that individuals who are subjected to these unhealthy meals are prone to become the victim of heart attack at an early age. As a result, it is essential that government should take legal steps to make processed foods costlier so that people become healthier. Secondly, the young generation is unhealthy and unenergetic because of eating too much fast food. In other words, kids and teenagers are attracted to pizzas, burgers, fries, chips and carbonated drinks which ultimately leads to obesity. This makes them inactive and lethargic. For example, a study from WHO disclosed that children from western countries are more obese and lazy compared to other nations and it also showed that almost 75% of those kids are not interested in sports and physical activities. Thus, reducing the intake of such meals will result in healthier youngsters. To conclude, it is clear from the facts that consumption of snacks not only causes health issues but it also makes kids and teens obese and unproductive. So the best option for the government is to reduce the availability of snacks by imposing a higher tax on junk food which will result in a decrease in demand.