In a number of countries, some people thinks it’s necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Some people hold that current public transport should be improved, while others point out that more money should be invested in constructing railway lines for fast trains. I strongly agree with the former position. To commence with, it can be argued that there is a necessity to connect cities and the best manner to do this is through fast trains. Connecting cities might have enormous benefits as it has been proved by economists that it might promote trade among various places, and this could be particularly beneficial for those places which are isolated, such as small towns. Take for example Chilean villages located in the middle of the desert, which cannot transport goods or foster tourism because either they do not have easy access or arriving these could last hours. However, I believe that governments should spend their budgets on the current problems that their societies already have. It is true that commuting to schools, universities or works can take much time each day. It can be noted on TV news when people are being interviewed that children and adults suffer as they have to daily wait for a long time to arrive at their destinations. It is a fact that this waiting time could be used to spend time with friends or families, that is, increasing people’s leisure time. Moreover, there are a massive number of demands related to the precarious conditions of public transport. For instance, in southern and northern cities people protest to include air-conditioner in summer and heaters in winter in busses. To sum up, I am convinced that improving current public transport is better than building new infrastructure. Steps should be taken by national authorities to upgrade buses and subway stations, even if it means that they will have to avoid spending money on technological transport.