People’s shopping habits depend more on the age group they belong to than any other factor. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is considered by some that people’s age is the main point for their shopping habits. I completely disagree with this idea, and my opinion is that how much money people have in their pockets and their gender are the vital influencers of their purchasing behaviours rather than the age group they belong to. First of all, the level of people’s wealth is one of the main factors which decides their shopping behaviours. This is because financial support is the basis for all things. Whether people are already 60 or 70 years old or they are in their early 30’s, they still pursue the latest fashion or luxury brands, and the reason is that they have enough money to buy them. For instance, some older generations who live in Toorak, which is the most expensive suburb of Melbourne, purchase the same fashion items such as a Chanel handbag, as young individuals. So, the shopping habits are unrelated to the age group. Furthermore, another crucial feature that contributes to what products people love buying is their gender. The reason is that females and males hold different characteristics, which influence their preferences and even determine what they purchase. As an illustration, men are more interested in physical fitness and sports than females, so some young men intend to buy pricey sports cars despite the fact that they are unable to afford them. In conclusion, in my opinion, the habits of shopping do not have any relation with people’s age. Their wealth and gender are two significant reasons to explain what they prefer to buy in their daily lives.